Web Site Redesign – Don’t Make Me Think!

I’ve just redesigned my photography Web site (accessible via the Portfolio tab above). I built it a few months ago using Wix.com.  Wix is free web-based software that allows you to build a pretty snappy site without having to write your own code from scratch. When I first built it I wanted to do something a little different and give the background a bit of texture. I ended up using a simulated wooden pattern for the background but while it looked cool it distracted the user unnecessarily from the whole point of the site – the photography. And it made the text somewhat difficult to make out.

Here is an early version of the site:

Photography Web Site Early Version

It just so happened that I had on my reading list for work the book “Don’t Make Me Think” by Steve Krug. As the subtitle states this book is “A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability.” I learned a ton from this book and it is a pretty quick read. Although it is over 5 years old now the majority of the ideas are still relevant and readily applicable.

While reading it I redesigned my site, trying to put to good using the many insights and tips presented. Take a look hereand let me know what you think if you have a moment. I would love to hear your feedback.  I am not entirely satisfied as of yet with the site navigation. One of the conventions that Krug advises the reader to use is to “Make it obvious what’s clickable”. I don’t feel I’ve quite done that yet.  I’m trying to think of the best way to do it without sacrificing the simplicity of the design.

Below is what the site looks like now:

Photography Portfolio Web Site Redesigned

This entry was posted in Art, Photography, Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Web Site Redesign – Don’t Make Me Think!

  1. Cinda says:

    Hmm. I kinda like a cool background. Maybe you could use a different one that is more simple?

Say hi and share! :-)

