Uptown Arts District First Friday Art Walk

Here is our flyer for the June First Friday  Art Walk in the Uptown Arts District in Michigan City:

Image

If you are in the area stop on by Haas & Associates at 526 Franklin St in Michigan City in the Uptown Arts District. Joy and I will be there to greet you.  The District is part of the city’s plan to revitalize the historic downtown area. Art stores, boutiques, and  professional firms line the streets, attracting locals and the summer beach crowds alike. And on Saturday mornings you can find fresh produce at the Farmer’s Market on the corner of 8th and Washington.

This will be our second First Friday Art Walk in as many months. Tim Haas, owner of Haas & Associates kindly invited us back after the May event. After gleefully accepting his offer we both went back to the drawing board intent upon having new pieces to show for the June event.

I decided that I wanted more control over the process of producing my photography, of pulling it out of the electronic ether and into the physical space, instead of sending it off to be printed on an expensive canvas or photo paper. So I turned to the world of image transfers. Pretty cool stuff. You can print out photographs and graphic designs on a regular old laser printer or inkjet (though I haven’t tried that yet) and apply a chemical mixture to it, press it down on wood, canvas, clay, you name it, and your image will transfer onto the surface. If you have never tried it – you’ve got to do it now.  I tried it using three different methods: gel medium, acetone, and fluid matte medium. The fluid matte medium took the cake. After application of the medium you only have to wait 2 minutes or so for the image to fully transfer onto your surface.  I won’t go into the process here because there are so many great posts on that already, following is a list of the ones that I found to be the most helpful: here, here, and here.

I did a lot of these transfers over the last month. Only a few turned out. I think this is probably the best one:

Image

The most difficult part of the procedure for me is making sure you have no air bubbles! Air pockets trapped under the paper mean that the ink will not stick to the medium and you will then see the surface behind it. If you are going for a vintage look that can be great but I didn’t want that for this picture so I painted over it all. I ended up painting over almost everything. Here is the original photo:

Image

There is a bit of a glare on the first image but as you can see it is a pretty faithful rendition. I think this piece will make it into the show. I also have a version of this photo printed on a 16×24 canvas in the show as well.

When I walked into Joy’s studio today I was blown away by her latest piece:

photo

“Birds of A Feather” is a 48×36 acrylic on canvas painting. It is so beautiful. I have to say it: that green really pops! and the detail on the feathers is spot-on. So honored to be sharing the space with such a talented lady!

Joy and I are excited to share the space with the folks at Arturo’s Baked Goods & More this month. Ginny Scott, an abstract expressionist painter, will be applying her painting style to Arturo’s cookies live at the Art Walk tonight.

And last but not least, Oh Mamma’s Italian Deli will once again provide a scrumptious meat and cheese plate. They make their own cheese from goat’s milk raised and tended to on their farm in northern Indiana.

This entry was posted in Art, Events, Photography, Portfolio and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Uptown Arts District First Friday Art Walk

  1. Lisa says:

    You guys rock!! Love you both!

Say hi and share! :-)

